Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

A new sheriff in town

with one comment

Harper thumbs up

I know it’s an over-used cliche, but I just couldn’t resist.

So, after 12 years in the wilderness, plodding back from the biggest disgrace in Canadian electoral history, the Tories are running the show. All in all, I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing (now before all the liberal [note small ‘l’ at the front of ‘liberal] folks start sizing me up for a spit,keep in mind that I didn’t vote Tory) for the country.

Certainly I would have enjoyed seeing the Liberals win with a majority, but I think the Conservatives (particuarly since they’ve won a minority government) will manage to keep the house from burning down. I am a little bit worried about the right wing of the party. That being said, I think the small size of their minority, and the rather large number of seats won by the NDP will keep things on an even keel.

I’ll probably have much more to say about this tomorrow (or in the next few days, at the latest), but I’m tired and it’s time to go to bed.

Written by The Canuck

January 24, 2006 at 12:07 am

Posted in canada, politics

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Having Harper in power scares the hell out of me. Hardcore right wingers in the States are more than happy with the fact that he is Prime Minister. Was reading the following quote from the Miami Herald:

    “We are glad to see that Canadians have values-voters too,” said Bob Morrison of the Family Research Council, a Washington-based group opposed to abortion and gay marriage. “We can be optimistic about the end of the social engineering as driven by the Martin government.”

    God help us all if Harper ever gets a majority.

    Bob

    January 25, 2006 at 1:47 pm


Leave a Reply

