Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

I hate lists …

leave a comment »

But that doesn’t mean that, every once in a while, I don’t make them.

You know those lists full o’ questions that show up in your inbox from time to time? I normally don’t fill in the blanks, but I was reading a friend’s blog archives (just found the blog – have to see if there’s anything worth filing a lawsuit over) and came across a list that I’d like to share with y’all (with my answers, of course).

1. Where do you work?

In an animal research lab (yes, I’m a bad, bad, BAD person)

2. Where did you go to college?

Long story: After high school, went to Humber College to study music (jazz, specificially). After trying to make a living as a musician, decided to go back to school. Graduated with a B.A. in Psychology from the University of Windsor and am now in grad school at the University of Western Ontario.

3. Do you live in the city or in the ‘burbs?

City, baby. No ‘burbs for this hep cat (yes, that is supposed to be ‘hep’)

4. Name all the books on your nightstand.

Without looking (’cause I’m at work and my nightstand isn’t): Kitchen Confidential, Travelling Music, and The Lord of the Rings.

5. Do you snoop in other people’s medicine cabinets?

Not as a rule (but if I did, do you think I’d admit it here?)

6. Which do you think is worse? The fact that we haven’t left Bosnia in ten years although we were supposed to be there for only a year or so, or the entire situation in Iraq, and the possibility that we will be there for 10 years or more?

Oh jeez. Can the answer to this question be a follow-up post? Please?

7. What are your radio presets in your car?

I don’t own a car, so I can’t have radio presets. But if I did own a car, I’d try to program every station that I could receive into the radio (I can be a fickle radio listener sometimes)

8. To 10 albums in your iTunes library.

Oh boy. I don’t think there are 10 albums that I consistently listen to on a regular basis, but here are some that I’ve listened to recently:

Power to the People and the Beats - Public Enemy's Greatest Hits Public Enemy – Power to the People and the Beats: Public Enemy’s Greatest Hits

Sinatra at the Sands Frank Sinatra & Count Basie – Live at the Sands

Bark Blackie and the Rodeo Kings – BARK

Up Peter Gabriel – Up

Close to the Edge (Remastered) Yes – Close to the Edge

Hot Fuss The Killers – Hot Fuss

Roxy Music Roxy Music – Avalon

Isaac Hayes Isaac Hayes – Hot Buttered Soul

9. If you were given a $5000 gift card to any store, which store would it be and why?

No hesitation here. The iTunes Music Store. There’s so much music out there that I don’t yet own, and $5000 would get me a long way towards completing the collection.

10a. Top 5 movies to watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon?

Goodfellas

Any portion of the Lord of the Rings trilogy

My Cousin Vinny

Not quite movies, but:

episodes of M*A*S*H (either on television or DVD)

episodes of Futurama

10b. Top 5 movies to watch when it’s 3 am?

Who is awake at 3 am? Not me.

10c. Top 5 movies you think everyone should see?

Goodfellas

The Godfather (1, 2, and maybe 3 if you like the first 2)

Unforgiven

Better Off Dead

Plan 9 From Outer Space (I don’t know, I could only think of 4 movies)

11. How do you like your steak?

Seared on the outside (nice and carmelized …. mmmmmmmm) and very pink and juicy on the inside (perhaps still twitching?)

12. Current guilty pleasure pop song?

It’s not quite pop (but it probably should be given the current state of the record business), but I kinda dig “One Way Ticket” by The Darkness

Written by The Canuck

February 15, 2006 at 11:47 am

Posted in randomness

Leave a Reply

