Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

Where’s Walter Cronkite when you need him?

with one comment

I’m going to be very blunt (and perhaps a little rude) – TV news blows.

I read this awful story about a daycare worker in the New York City area who has been accused of sexually abusing a 4-year-old child. I don’t think I really have to say anything about how, if it’s true, this woman should be put away for many, many years.

As I was reading the story (on a television station’s website), I was struck by one line:

“But if the charges are true, Khenwatie Bedessie is a monster who preyed on a little boy in her care.”

That is an editorial comment that has no place in a news report. If the station wants to offer an opinion, then write and/or broadcast an editorial (clearly labelled as editorial content). Please don’t insert opinion into news stories. Just report the damn facts.

Of all the things I dislike about the current state of television news (and there are many), I think this is the biggest. It’s already difficult enough for people accused of crimes to get a fair trial because of neutral media coverage. I can only imagine the vitriol that is being spewed out by people in the coffee shops and subway cars of New York about this woman because of this sort of biased and irresponsible reporting.

Just an opinion (see Channel 7, it’s not that hard?!!?!)

Written by The Canuck

March 2, 2006 at 11:46 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The lowest common denominator rules when it comes to the “news” these days. The fact that Katie Couric may actually get the anchorship of the CBS Evening News should tell you how far we’ve fallen. Whatever happened to reaching for the stars instead of sinking to the LCD? Edward R. Murrow is spinning in his grave…

    I am also SICK of celebrenews. I’m not talking about the Oscars. I’m talking about the every day tripe that we are subjected to. GRRR.

    There was a fairly informative piece on CBC Marketplace last night about cancer. Scary stuff. But what’s even scarier is that the CBC, with their tiny little budget, gave me more info about cancer than I have heard on American news ever.

    Veryfine

    Veryfine

    March 6, 2006 at 11:24 am


Leave a Reply

