Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

You wanna come over and watch a movie tonight? That’ll be $8.95 plus $3.50 for the soda and $4.75 for the popcorn. You don’t want to know how much parking is.

with 3 comments

Ken Fisher wrote a great piece on DRM (digital rights management) for Ars Technica. In a nutshell, he argues (quite well, I must say) that, at least for the Hollywood studios, DRM doesn’t have anything to do with piracy, it’s all about gouging the consumer.

Written by The Canuck

January 15, 2007 at 1:49 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blood suckers!

    The Big Seester

    January 16, 2007 at 2:40 pm

  2. Yeah. The day they make it so I can’t lend a DVD to a friend is the day I throw my TV and DVD player out the window. What a bunch of baloney.

    Well, maybe I’ll take them to St. Vincent de Paul, but you know what I mean.

    Kasia

    January 16, 2007 at 4:23 pm

  3. This is why I’m (and many, many other people) so adamant about FAIR fair use rules in copyright legislation. If I buy a DVD (or a CD or whatever the medium du jour is), I should be able to make a backup copy, move the content to my iPod, copy the files to my computer so I can watch/listen to them using that, and even lend said media to a friend.

    What the media companies want is to make it so that I have to purchase (in addition to the original DVD or CD), a copy for my iPod, one for my computer, another one to lock away for backup purposes, etc.

    Joseph Tremblay

    January 16, 2007 at 4:35 pm


Leave a Reply

