Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

Good news from the Tigers camp

with 3 comments

According to this post at The Detroit Tigers Weblog the Tigers have signed new deals (and therefore avoided arbitration) with Nate Robertson, Fernando Rodney, Omar Infante, and Craig Monroe.

This is a good thing.

Nate Robertson is, I think, one of the better young pitchers in baseball and certainly a starter that I want to keep in Detroit. Rodney is a late reliever who can most definitely throw a monster fastball (not quite the monster that Joel Zumaya can throw, but he’s a good setup man for the closer). Infante is, I think, going to be one of the best utility men in all of baseball in a couple of years. I think the signing I’m most happy with is Craig Monroe. I was a little worried that they were going to let him go to make some room on the roster, so I’m glad he’s sticking around for at least another year. Like Infante, he’s another good utility player and he’s definitely one of the better clutch/situational hitters in the game.

Written by The Canuck

January 16, 2007 at 3:20 pm

Posted in baseball

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay on Monroe! And we’re keeping my sweetie Pudge, right?

    Kasia

    January 16, 2007 at 4:21 pm

  2. Nope, Pudge is sticking around. I think his contract runs through at least this season, maybe next as well. After that, I’m not sure what he’ll do.

    Joseph Tremblay

    January 16, 2007 at 4:36 pm

  3. Oh good. 🙂 I know TBS prefers Ordoñez, but Pudge just rocks!

    You, of course, rock far more. 🙂 (smooch)

    Kasia

    January 16, 2007 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

