Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

This should make The Big Seester happy

with 2 comments

Many weeks ago (actually, it may have been last week, I can’t remember) I was tagged by The Big Seester for the “Six Weird Things About You” meme. Now that things have slowed down a little, I have some time to share with y’all those things that make me different from the rest of the world ….

  • I’m about 9/10 of the way towards having full-blown OCD
    • This shouldn’t come as a major revelation to either The Clam or any of my co-workers. I don’t really have any of the “must touch the doorknob six times before and after passing through the door’ OCD traits, but I am most definitely a creature of habit. In fact, I probably wrote the book on being a creature of habit. I have a very set morning routine (and, to be honest, the day doesn’t feel right if it’s disturbed in a significant way). I have pens scattered all around the lab so that I don’t have to go searching for one when I need to write something down (and yes, I do get a little irritated when one goes missing). I’m sure others could offer up many more examples (feel free to in the comments), but I think you get the point.
  • In some respects, I’m a pretty un-Canadian Canadian
    • I get teased mercilessly by The Clam’s family about being Canadian and it got much worse when they found out that I prefer coffee over tea and baseball over hockey.
  • Even though The Clam got her nickname because some believe her to be quite secretive, I take her Clam-ness to astronomical levels. I should be called The Black Hole rather than The Canuck
  • I don’t know if this is weird or not, but I really (and I mean REALLY) want everyone to do things exactly as I do them.
    • If someone at work leaves a clipboard in the ‘wrong’ spot, I get irritated. I see some clueless person blocking the aisle on the bus (even if I’m nowhere near my stop) I get irritated. My neighbours’ inability to properly close the (*&$)(*&$# door – infuriating. And so on.
  • I have a remarkable ability to reference ‘M*A*S*H’ in almost any situation
    • Thanks to The Clam for pointing this out. I’m a big fan of the television show ‘M*A*S*H’ and have seen every episode countless times. As I’m sure The Clam will be happy to tell you, I can spout appropriate quotes and references for nearly any situation one might encounter. I wish I could think of an example right now, but my brain is operating on 25% power right about now.
  • I love to speak hyperbolically
    • See the new blog title? That’s a reference to another quirk that I have. I’m not sure when it started, why it started, or why I keep doing it. It’s ‘just one of those things’.
Written by The Canuck

March 30, 2007 at 10:18 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. I had no idea that fun, quirky OCD was so rampant! Almost everyone who has answered this meme (myself included) has listed one or more OCD-ish tendencies.

    2. This doesn’t make you weird. Canadians are weird. The fact that you are more American than Canadian makes you normal. In fact, being more like 300 million people than like 30 million people is, by definition, more normal than not normal.

    3. I had no idea you were so secretive. That was interesting.

    4. Your co-habitants cannot close a door correctly either? Wow. I thought it was just me. I am feeling very bait-and-switchy about my home, just because of the neighbors. I love my new home, but the woman across the hall is an absolute WHACK JOB. AND she slams doors. Constantly.

    Keep thinking – there must be more. If I can come up with 6, anyone can come up with 6. I’m the most normal person I know.

    And yes, this did bring a smile to my face on an otherwise really crappy Monday morning.

    TBS

    The Big Seester

    April 2, 2007 at 9:39 am

  2. How about the fact that he can find a M*A*S*H quote to fit any occasion?

    Kasia

    April 4, 2007 at 12:23 pm


Leave a Reply

