Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

Irritant #1

with 3 comments

Katharine Mieszkowski over at Salon have posted a great article on what may rank as my number one, top-of-the-heap, all-time champion irritant – noise pollution. Go read it and feel free to share noise pollution stories of your own.

Although there are many kinds of noise pollution that irritate me, I’m only going to discuss the two that have been most bothersome lately.

The Car Horn As Doorbell

Is it really that difficult to get off your behind, walk up to the door and use the doorbell? If you’re in a wheelchair, perhaps. Or if the person you’re picking up has a large and vicious dog that will try to remove one of your limbs the moment you open your car door. Other than that? Get off your rear and ring the doorbell.

Lawnmowers

You know, unless your car sits on an acre or more of land, you don’t need a riding lawn mower. I know, I know, there are some exceptions to that rule (health concerns, having a long and hilly driveway to clear of snow), but by and large, most yards don’t necessitate the use of a riding lawnmower.

Most yards, in fact, don’t even require the use of a POWERED lawn mower. It’s not much more difficult to push an unpowered mower across your lawn that it is to push a gas- or electric-powered one. There are many other advantages to using an unpowered mower:

  1. You don’t have to stand there yanking the starter cord for 25 minutes.
  2. No noxious fumes being belched out into the air.
  3. Much less maintenance.
  4. You don’t need to purchase $1.35/litre (that’s well over $4/gallon) gas for your lawnmower.
  5. Unpowered mowers are QUIET.
Written by The Canuck

June 25, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Posted in irritants

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would just like to say that when loud obnoxious cuss-laden hip-hop is coming from a hoopty car like mine, I may not like it, but I deal with it.

    If, however, you want to play loud obnoxious cuss-laden hip-hop in your shiny Navigator or Jaguar, PLEASE ROLL UP THE WINDOWS AND RUN THE AIR CONDITIONING!

    My a/c does not work. If I roll up my windows, I swelter and eventually suffocate.

    I realize that some other people’s cars share this problem, and for them, they have to roll down the window. And ya know, I’m ok with it. I don’t like hearing other people’s music as a rule, but I accept it.

    But if you’ve got THAT nice of a car, I’m betting the air works. Don’t be cheap. Roll up the windows if you’re gonna play your music.

    Please. Pretty please.

    Kasia

    June 25, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  2. And if one ABSOLUTELY has to share one’s music with the general population why can’t it be something GOOD?

    The Canuck

    June 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

  3. I do listen to my music quite loud in my car, but I keep the windows up. 1 – I have been told that I have *horrible* taste in music. 2 – I would be embarrassed to have anyone hear me sing, and how could I *not* sing along? 3 – Ugh! Talk about noise! All that horrible noise competing with my music?!? No way! Windows stay up! 🙂

    Jaibee

    June 26, 2008 at 6:24 pm


Leave a Reply

