Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

I don’t even live in Detroit (yet) and I’m embarrassed by this …

with 4 comments

I was just going through some RSS feeds and noticed that in just the past few hours there have been articles about the various political scandals that are brewing in Detroit right now

Grand jury supboenas councilwoman

Kilpatrick aide ordered out as Detroit council stops tunnel deal

Armor sale delayed after anonymous letter surfaces about mayor’s father

If I were a resident of Detroit (or even the Metro Detroit area), I would be both embarrassed and angry about this. It seems that the politicans in Detroit can’t make a cup of coffee without doing something illegal and/or unethical. I don’t know why more residents aren’t beating down the doors of the  State Legislature asking them to step in and take over the whole operation.

What’s even more depressing and embarrassing is that, come election time, most of these people will probably be re-elected.

UPDATE: It just keeps getting better …

Judge throws out lawsuit seeking Kilpatrick’s repayment of millions

“Taxes haven’t gone up one penny as a result of this,” said James Thomas, another of Kilpatrick’s lawyers in court Friday.

I could be wrong, but could the reason that taxes haven’t gone up be because there hasn’t been a new budget since the crap hit the fan about the settlement and therefore no opporunity to raise taxes?

Written by The Canuck

July 17, 2008 at 4:15 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Blacks in Detroit don’t have a problem with KK’s shenanigans. They rationalize it by saying that the corrupt White leadership violated laws and abused the public trust for decades in the city, so now it is their turn. An irrational application of two wrongs make a right, or something like that.

    johnnypeepers

    July 17, 2008 at 4:19 pm

  2. What always floors me about Detroit corruption is that the voters of the city don’t seem to realize or care that it is THEIR collective pocket getting picked. I guess I can wrap my brain a little around the “two wrongs make a right” kind of argument, even though I think it’s plainly wrong. But I’ve never in my life thought “Well, it stinks that the government is corrupt, but hey – they look like me, so it’s A-OK!” And I can’t believe that my fellow Detroiters think that either. So the only other alternative I can come up with is that they must not realize they’re the ones getting ripped off…

    Kasia

    July 17, 2008 at 4:32 pm

  3. The Detroit Free Press had an article within the last 18 months or so, giving the stats of the functionally illiterate within the city limits. 44%.

    So, when they go in to vote (those that do), they are literally voting for names they recognize. HS graduation rates of 1 in 3 (or was it 1 in 4?). I’m not saying the only way to learn critical thinking is in school, but you’re sure not going to develop it watching Maury every day.

    Plus, remember the election scandal from the last election – ballots were getting passed out that already had certain names checked. Last I checked, nobody did anything to Jackie Currie over that crap either.

    TBS

    Michigander Fan

    July 17, 2008 at 8:02 pm

  4. I keep hoping that someday the situation (the WHOLE situation) in Detroit will get better, however today is not one of those days …

    The Canuck

    July 17, 2008 at 9:17 pm


Leave a Reply

