Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

HA!!

with 4 comments

Courtesty chow.com:

Most of us of a certain age can recall the famous Grey Poupon commercial wherein one luxury car owner answers another’s mustard-related query (“Pardon me, would you have any Grey Poupon?”) with a courteous “But of course” before handing the stuff over.

Yeah, it turns out that not everyone finds it funny in real life. The Smoking Gun tells the story of a Grey Poupon prank gone bad:

After gesturing to the 22-year-old [Vitaly] Kovtun to roll down his window, passenger Stephen Cox asked, ‘Excuse me, sir, do you have any Grey Poupon?’ Kovtun responded, police charge, by pulling a handgun from his glove compartment, cocking the weapon, and leveling it at the prankster’s auto. ‘Here’s your Grey Poupon, roll your f*ing windows up,’ Kovtun said, according to a probable cause affidavit.

Points for style all around on this one.

Written by The Canuck

July 24, 2008 at 10:39 am

Posted in amusing

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Holy crap! Apparently someone’s had one too many Mormons knocking on his door…

    He’s not old enough to remember the commercials, and the kids were being twits, but…wow, dude, get some anger management classes in!

    Kasia

    July 24, 2008 at 1:19 pm

  2. Yeah, he does need some anger management classes but a part of me did appreciate the “stop acting like an immature jackass” component of his response 😉

    The Canuck

    July 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm

  3. Oh come ON, Canuck! That was a harmless and funny thing! Your funny bone needs some exercise!

    Random thoughts: I not only remember that commercial, I also remember the one where the guy is in the nice car and the girl pulls up in the hoopty (of course, they weren’t called hoopties back then) and says, “Do you have a CELL-U-LAR phone?” And when he says, “Of course I do,” She says, “So do I!” and then laughs like a maniac.

    Also, the Grey Poupon guy was in a really terrific British miniseries called House of Cards. It rocked. He was the biggest, slimiest, jerkiest politician ever. And you loved to hate him. I spent hours trying to figure out where I knew him from.

    TBS

    thebigseester

    July 24, 2008 at 9:28 pm

  4. I dunno – I guess I’m somewhere in between you two. I think Kovtun needs some anger management, but I also think the kids were being immature morons. And I have to confess that I think Canuck is right that Kovtun deserves some points for style…

    Kasia

    July 28, 2008 at 12:44 pm


Leave a Reply

