Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

Those is glass houses …

with 11 comments

So Obama’s campaign team has been going after John McCain for, among other things, his uncertainty over how many houses he owns. I have to admit that if I were in a heated political race against someone and they said that they weren’t sure how many homes they owned, I’d be all over it. However, when I read this

In recent weeks, Democrats have stepped up their effort to caricature McCain as living an outlandishly rich lifestyle — a bit of payback to the GOP for portraying Sen. Barack Obama (D-Ill.) as an elitist, and for turning the spotlight in 2004 on the five homes owned by Sen. John F. Kerry (D-Mass.) and his wife, Teresa Heinz Kerry.

I immediately thought of something Kasia told me about a few months ago (do you remember were you ready it, honey?). Apparently, when the Obamas were first married, they were struggling to manage everything while living in a three-bedroom townhouse in Chicago. Be careful, Obama’s campaign team, you might become the first alchemists to turn gold into lead …

Written by The Canuck

August 21, 2008 at 10:14 am

Posted in politics

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are you suggesting that you have to be living in a refrigerator box before you can be struggling to make ends meet? A three bedroom townhouse is hardly a mansion. Or seven of them. McCain has been part of the bureaucratic elite since he was born. After marrying his current wife, he got the social elite status to go along with it.

    I thank them for the beers though.

    H7M

    August 21, 2008 at 4:17 pm

  2. No, I’m not suggesting that one has to be “living in a refrigerator box” before they can be classified as ‘struggling’. All I’m saying is that comments like the one that Obama made are exactly the sort of thing that the opposition will sieze on. I don’t think it could lead to the collapse of his campagin, but it certainly won’t help.

    I agree with you that a three-bedroom townhouse is hardly a mansion, but neither is it a bachelor apartment.

    I don’t have a problem with the fact that McCain owns several homes, I have a problem with the fact that, during this interview McCain did not know how many homes he owns (it seems like that’s the kind of thing that someone should be able to recall at the drop of a hat). If they’d asked him, “Senator McCain, how many pairs of shoes do you own?” I would have been surprised if he could have given an exact number, but HOUSES?!!

    The Canuck

    August 21, 2008 at 5:19 pm

  3. If Grand-Pa McBush can’t even remember how many houses he own due to OLD AGE, how could he possibly defend us against TERRORISM as he and FOX news claimed.

    Prinso

    August 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  4. Gee Canuck, don’t you think there’s a LITTLE bit of difference between “my 3 bedroom townhouse” and 7 houses worth $13 million? Especially when the 7 houses guy accuses the other of being an “elitist?” Maybe I’m too cynical or something, but I think that’s the absolutely most inane and baseless charge I’ve ever heard, and I’m disgusted the media keeps on parroting it.

    john in Mo

    August 21, 2008 at 5:44 pm

  5. John in Mo:

    As I said in my previous comment, I don’t care how many homes McCain owns. My complaint is that he couldn’t remember how many he owns.

    I do agree with you that McCain continually referring to Obama as an “elitist” is most definitely in the ‘pot … kettle’ area of discourse, but I think you and I both know that, when it comes to politics the media would much rather harp on the simple things than have a frank and open discussion about policy.

    The Canuck

    August 21, 2008 at 6:09 pm

  6. The democrats are diggin deep. I just think the guy keeps his finances and his wifes separate and was trying not to be clever with words like Obama is. Either way – I think its great to talk about who was what. You got a snotty be-than-you book intellectual versus a man who sacrificed over and over for his country and his tough as nails and smart through true experience. Obama talks the talk – McCAIN walked the walk and contiues to walk it. This shit is silly and won’t last long.

    Christian

    August 21, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  7. I find it funny that it matters that McCain has money. They all have money. Look at how much John Kerry had access to (and a number of houses). And John Edwards is filthy rich. Both Democrats. Isn’t it a double standard when you criticize a Republican for being filthy rich when there are Democrats with just as much. Kerry married into money the same way McCain did. Doesn’t make him any different from McCain. I don’t care for any of them, Republican or Democrat.

    cindydyer

    August 21, 2008 at 11:05 pm

  8. I have no problem with the number of homes McCain has. This is America and you can have whatever you can afford. The problem comes when you can’t answer the question, and that problem is compounded when his spokesman injects his POW experience in the response. America owes McCain a debt of graditude for his military service, but he should not use the POW card as a political club against any criticism.
    http://www.ebonymompolitics.wordpress.com

    musesofamom

    August 22, 2008 at 8:20 am

  9. Who really cares how many houses Mr. McCain has. Is this the only thing Oboma can find wrong with Mr. McCain then I think he needs to calm down. Ever since he came back from vacation he has been the most vindictive, snippy, nervous person I have seen in a long time. Is it because he is so use to everyone kissing up to him and he thought he could say what he wanted and no one would dare to question the almighty Obama. Believe me there are a lot of Americans who can see clear through him. He has neither the intellegience or patience to be President. He is like a little child who says if you don’t play my way then I will not play. Oboma grow up. We need a man for President, not a whining child.

    Tuberose

    August 22, 2008 at 11:52 am

  10. I do care that McCain has 7 homes and they total 13 million because I do not think he has a clue as to how hard the working class is struggling through a fiscally cancerous nation. If I was going to put my bets on a person understanding the needs of a ruined economy and people struggling to make their mortgage, I wouldn’t go to the man holding over 100 million in the bank and 7 homes in his repertoire. Secondly, we are in a war costing our nation a trillion dollars more a year in defecit. I do not support anyone gung ho to keep this war going under those provisions when China is buying our trade defecit up which in turn allows them the right to control our actions or they could pull the plug on our economy at any second. So 4 more years of Bush policies? No thanks!
    It is immorally wrong to pass all this debt onto our children which is where this is heading.

    Nikki

    August 22, 2008 at 4:42 pm

  11. You are all worried about how many houses McCain has, but don’t worry about the fact Obama is for killing born babies.

    Rob

    August 22, 2008 at 5:51 pm


Leave a Reply

