Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

Another hurdle cleared

leave a comment »

As some of you know, I (and Katie) have been anxiously waiting to hear when my visa interview will be. (This is the interview at the US Consulate in Montreal where they decide whether or not I’ll get my fiance visa). I emailed the consulate earlier this morning and they wrote back almost right away saying that a letter will be mailed soon for an interview date of October 22, 2008 at 8:30am!!

This is earlier than I would have liked (I would have preferred something in late November) because, once I have the visa in my passport, it will be much more difficult to enter the US as a visitor. Given those difficulties, I’ll stay in Canada until I move to the US in late December or early January. That means that Katie & I will not get to see each other every weekend (probably every two weeks), but hey, it’s better than having an interview date AFTER our wedding date and having to reschedule the wedding.

I’ve got my train ticket booked (approx 12 hours each way – GACK!), got my hotel booked (only a short walk from hotel to consulate and hotel to train station) and am already thinking of what sightseeing I’d like do to after my interview (I’ll have an afternoon and evening free).

Now just waiting for the sense of relief to really kick in …

Written by The Canuck

October 8, 2008 at 1:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

