Welcome To Canuckistan

Where we’re very polite (even when we’re ranting about things that irritate us)

Can I blame the popularity of text messaging for this one?

with 10 comments

I know that CNN, Fox News, MSNBC, and other news outlets love to use something akin to “Prince-speak” in the little tickers that crawl across the bottom of the screen – shortening as many words as possible (often with no consistency with respect to the shortcuts used) in order to squeeze as many stories into as little time as possible. Very often this just ends up confusing the viewer – at least this viewer. I’ve been watching coverage of the hearing about the possible removal of Detroit mayor Kwame Kilpatrick and CNN’s use of “HRG” instead of “hearing” has been bothering me all day long. If it were an issue of screen real estate, fine, use the damn shortcut. But in this case, they’ve got enough room to include the unabridged word AND a haiku about Kwame’s legal troubles.

<sigh>

Written by The Canuck

September 3, 2008 at 3:37 pm

Posted in iodiocy

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, Joe. Now I want to hear the haiku…. πŸ™‚

    Jaibee

    September 4, 2008 at 7:34 am

  2. Or, was it maybe a bit of a jab referencing the text messaging scandal? hehe you never know!

    On a side note…what I find funny…the arrow starts at the guys ear and points to the “hrg” in the title…was that done on purpose? lol

    Stacy

    September 4, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  3. Jaibee: Sadly there is no haiku 😦 I’m not much of a poet …

    Stacy: Nope, not done on purpose πŸ˜‰

    The Canuck

    September 4, 2008 at 1:18 pm

  4. if that’s the headline, what does the article, or for that matter the court transcription look like? Haha!

    DPD sez “We mad pwnz u!”
    Kwame sez “OMG! WTF! U can’t! I’m the r0XX0rz!”

    Jaibee

    September 5, 2008 at 7:26 am

  5. ROFLOL…

    Kasia

    September 5, 2008 at 2:18 pm

  6. hahahahaaa!!!! That’s great Jaibee!!!

    Stacy

    September 6, 2008 at 8:51 am

  7. OMG! OMG is the only part of Jaibee’s comment I understand!

    I told you, Kasia, I know nothing of pop culture, and this just proves it. I wear my lack of understanding as a badge of pride, dontcha know.

    djrakowski

    September 8, 2008 at 1:53 pm

  8. Dan,

    No need to feel culturally illiterate! While I managed to understand a little more than “OMG”, I’m still pretty much in the dark regarding this whole “txt speak” thing …

    The Canuck

    September 8, 2008 at 2:05 pm

  9. Bwahahahah! djrakowski, I mad pwnz u, n00b! πŸ™‚ I would suggest that you could look it all up on urbandictionary.com; however, that site is a … moral wasteland … so please don’t, lest I have to go to Reconciliation for scandal…. Thanks. πŸ™‚

    And, um, yeah, you probably don’t want to know where I got all my lovely … knowledge. πŸ™‚ My salvation is still being worked out…. (Negotiated, pleaded for, etc.) πŸ™‚

    Jaibee

    September 8, 2008 at 4:51 pm

  10. I’d love to look it up in urbandictionary, but fortunately, my company’s internet server blocked it. You’re safe from accusations of causing scandal – for now, anyways πŸ˜‰

    I have lovely knowledge, too, Jaibee, but it’s at least a decade old. Marriage and children have filled the space that used to be occupied by pop culture.

    Joe, Mrs. DJ and I text all the time, but I’ve never bothered to learn text-speak. I opted for a phone with a keyboard instead πŸ˜€

    djrakowski

    September 9, 2008 at 12:26 pm


Leave a comment